Old 09-26-2009, 09:42 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 153/136/130

Height: 5'4"

Unhappy I'm new to this . . .

Hi everyone, I'm not really sure if I'm doing this right -- my kids would probably be laughing at me right now.

Anyways, I'm 43, and have been gaining weight pretty steadily with no results from diet and exercise on my own for the past 2 1/2 years. So I joined Slim4Life even though I've always said I'd never do something like that. I tried Weight Watchers Online last year with very, very slow results so I got discouraged and quit. I bought P90X in February and did it 4-5 days a week but since I wasn't doing the diet portion of it, my results were slow.

So finally, after my birthday in August and feeling depressed that I was probably in the worst shape of my life, I joined Slim4Life. This is my 4th week and I've lost around 9.5 lbs. I haven't lost any weight at all this week, which makes me a little discouraged. I do exercise about 30 minutes 4-5 days per week doing my P90X.

I allow myself a beer or glass of wine once in a while and the counselors really make me feel bad for doing that. So now I've started just substituting it for a bread and fruit and not writing it down which I know kind of defeats the whole purpose of ACCOUNTABILITY, but can I NEVER have that stuff???

I need some encouragement.
jessiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 11:42 AM   #2  
Heidi

S/C/G: 204.5/149/153

Height: 5'7"

Hi, Jessie.

Welcome to the group, and congratulations on your 9 pound loss -- that's wonderful! I don't know anything about Slim4Life; I guess if you're trying to follow their plan, you should stick to their plan.

But... there are plenty of us who enjoy a beer or a glass of wine on occasion and continue to lose weight. So I wouldn't worry about it too much.