Old 08-19-2009, 03:53 PM   #1  
NEVER EVER going back

S/C/G: 377/240's/150

Height: 5 feet 5 inches

Wink I've had A LOT of Pm's lately... so here's the scoop peoples

So I’ve had quite a few emails asking me about meal plans, calorie counts etc. First of all… I am not a doctor or an expert. I am just a person that has happened to find out what works for ME to lose weight. So I cannot say that this plan will work for you. BUT it’s wholesome, sensible and operates on the basic principal of burn more calories than you take in.

First of all you have to find out how many calories a day you need to eat to lose weight. So go here
http://www.tlbc.ca/blog/index.php/bmr-calculator/
and follow their instructions.

To lose 1 lb a week you need to create a calorie deficit of 3500. You do that by shaving 500 calories off of your intake a day. If you want to lose two lbs you have to shave off 1000 calories a day. That SOUNDS like a lot… but really? Most people are eating at LEAST 1000 calories over what they should a day anyways…

So to start I ate 1800 calories a day. After losing 142 lbs I have gone down a bit to 1600 calories a day. You need to find the amount that works for you. If you are over 200 lbs a good place to start is 1800-2000 a day… under 200 you could start around 1700 and adjust from there. DISCLAIMER: NEVER EVER EVER eat less than 1200 calories a day. It’s virtually impossible to nourish your body properly at that low of a calorie level and even harder to maintain that calorie level long term.

I don’t follow any low carb, low fat, low calorie plan. I eat CLEAN carbs (meaning cut the white. No white sugar, grains, breads…) LOTS of protein and a healthy amount of fat. My basic macro breakdown looks like this:

Protein: 25-30ish %
Fat: 25- NO MORE THAN 30% fat
Carbs: 45-55%

I track every bite that I eat and plan ALL of my meals in advance. I use the daily planner at: www.fitday.com