Old 07-29-2009, 12:41 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 193/169/145

Height: 5'6"

Question Cal Counting: Wing it or Plan it?

I'm relatively new to calorie counting... a few days or weeks here & there. But now I'm committed to counting every day (after a few 4-5 week plateaus)!!

Before when I counted, I would eat then write down the calories afterward (and sometimes feel frustrated by the higher than expected #'s). Now I'm realizing that I can be more proactive about how to "spend" my calories and can plan my day better.

My question is... do you plan your day out in advance, or do you wing it like I tend to do?
kellygram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 12:43 PM   #2  
Moderating Mama

S/C/G: 295/200/175

Height: 5' 8"

I plan, plan, plan!

The night before, I go into FitDay. I map out my day for the next day, and can adjust on the fly if it ends up a little high or too low. That means I always have a plan to follow that is right on target with my goals. If I need to adjust something the next day, I do the adjustment in FitDay before I eat it!

Without having a plan, I don't know what I'd do...it wouldn't be good!
mandalinn82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 12:48 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 195/180.2/165

Height: 5'9"

I plan. Just like I check the balance in my bank account before I spend money, I make a plan for the day before I prepare my meals. After a while, you'll have some "go to" meals or foods who calorie counts you know off the top of your head, which makes planning easier, but eating first and counting later without having a handle on things would be like spending first and checking your accounts later and then realizing you were going to get hit with overdraft fees (or extra pounds.)
seagirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 01:00 PM   #4  
Anne

S/C/G: 407/358-Dec2007/tracker/125

Height: 5'4"