Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 06-30-2009, 09:43 PM   #1  
More than halfway to 100!

S/C/G: 273/see ticker/150

Height: 5'6

Default Anyone training for a half marathon?

Hey chicks--

I am new to the exercise portion of the site, and I'm training for my first half marathon! I am doing long runs with a training group (CARA- Chicago Area Runners Association), and shorter runs on my own-- I try to stay at an 11:30/mile pace in all runs.

I am wondering if anyone on here has done a half marathon before, and can give me any tips as I enter this last month of training, looking forward to race day on August 2! (It's the Chicago Rock and Roll Half Marathon.)

Thanks in advance!
Rose
IrishRose25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:56 PM   #2  
Boston Qualifier and MOM

Height: 5'3.75"

Hey Rose, yes there are several veteran half marathoners on here. Come on over to the July running thread! http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/showthread.php?t=175628

Last edited by ennay; 06-30-2009 at 11:57 PM.
ennay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:59 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 275/222/140

Height: 5'6"

Yay! Good for you. I have not ran a half marathon before, so I really don't have any tips. I am going to run my first one next march though! I won't start training with a runners group until November. I have became obsessed with http://runnersworld.com They have some great articles and tips on running your first of any race. I have been using it for my first 5k coming up, but they have several articles relating to half marathons. Good luck!
utgirl09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:59 PM   #4  
Ironman in Training

S/C/G: 302/205/150

Height: 5'5

I haven't yet, but want to for this spring... also in Chicago.

The rock-n-roll one looks fun though!

Best of luck.
Idealmuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:46 AM   #5  
Tellin' it like it is!

S/C/G: RESTART:153.5/147/135

Height: 5'4"