Old 06-26-2009, 08:55 AM   #1  
Mom23Boys

S/C/G: 250

Height: 5'8"

Smile New to Calorie Counting - Help!

Ok ladies. I'm new to calorie counting because I always thought I didn't have time for it. But, I'm still overweight and nothing else has worked so there has to be something to this calorie counting. I started yesterday and was amazed at how little I ate for breakfast and lunch, yet it still rang in at 1070 calories. Wow, now I'm convinced I need to count calories. So, help me out. I need suggestions on making this work for me. I have my journal out next to the fridge. What about cooking at home, since you don't know how many calories some things have in them. For example: I grilled hamburgers last night and had no idea how many calories a hamburger patty was. I did look it up on sparkpeople.com and it gave me 210 calories. That was before a bun or any condiments. I also read somewhere that it takes 3500 calories to burn 1 lb of fat!! Yikes. I wanted to lose 2-3 lbs/week. Any suggestions for how many calories/day. I am 250 lbs currently and excercise 3-4 days/week. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Mom23Boys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 09:19 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 215/188/150

Height: 5'4"

Welcome to calorie counting! Don't worry, we all start off fairly confused and thoroughly in denial about how many calories are in the foods we eat. I've only been doing this for a few weeks and though it is still daunting I'm getting the hang of it.

I would suggest getting a food scale. That way you can measure your hamburger (cooked) before you put it on your bun. It seems really medical and tedious but you get used to it. You might have found that your hamburger was 210calories, maybe for a 3oz portion, but what if your portion was actually 5oz? That's substantially more calories.