Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 06-04-2009, 12:45 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 209/ticker/140

Height: 5'3"

Default Oof

I do not love weightlifting class. I know it needs to be done, it is important. But I just don't particularly love it. Maybe it is because I am just starting out? It's just...it hurts and it's hard and whine whine whine.

Tonight sucked, because I have a cold. I did an hour of zumba and then an hour of weightlifting. I started to feel like I was going to puke somewhere in there, and just waited until I was ok and then continued. OMG it better get easier. Maybe I just asked too much of myself with a cold.

I try to look at my super hot instructor when I feeling like giving up. She's got an awesome body and crazy guns and...I want to look like that!

Please, someone tell me weights were hard when they started and I don't just totally suck.
Noniegrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 12:37 PM   #2  
Working My Way Back Down

Quote:
Please, someone tell me weights were hard when they started and I don't just totally suck
You're right! It was hard, and you don't suck!

A couple of suggestions. First, you might want to lift before you do an hour of cardio. Second, no one expects you do as well as the "regulars" at your first session of the class, or second, or third.... You have to build up and that means starting light and learning the correct technique. Once you do that and the weight isn't challenging you, it's time to move up. (I'm assuming this is like a Body Pump or similar class?)

Having a cold doesn't necessarily mean you should not lift, you just might want to pamper yourself a bit - esp if you're not breathing well.
WaterRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 12:45 PM   #3  

If you are taking this class 3+ times a week, you should notice it get drastically easier in about a month. At which point you will increase the weight.