Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 05-19-2009, 09:19 AM   #1  

Height: 5'8.5"

Default Swimmers Unite!

Anyone here seriously into swimming and/or pool workouts... aerobics or whatever? It would be fun to find others similarly involved to share with.
Misti in Seattle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 03:18 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 264.2/264.2/150

Height: 5'5"

I am just beginning to get into swimming. Right now i cant even swim the length of my gym's pool w/o stopping to catch my breath, LOL.. but I love it. I am trying to work out a program to build my endurance in the pool, I would love to be able to swim laps without having to stop every couple of minutes.
Jldsgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 03:24 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 250/201/150

Height: 5'4"

We have an above ground pool that comes about chest high on me and 26 foot wide. I started walking in the pool when my knee began to give me trouble from walking on land. I also try to swim laps but doing laps in a circle is sort of difficult! LOL And I've been doing some other exercises on my legs with the resistance of the water.

The regular swimming really gets my heart pumping and it feels great. I've been trying to do some research online and find out the benefits for weight loss but I've found varied opinions. Therefore I'm just trying to do a combination of walking on land, some strength training and working in some pool activity as well.

How about you - do you have a routine or any sort of good info?
tammyjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 08:43 PM   #4  

Hi Amanda and Tammyjo

Thanks for sharing.

Amanda, good for you for getting started! Bet you will get up your endurance in no time. One thing that helps... usually swimming on your back is easier so you might want to try flipping over and doing that when you get tired. Your endurance will build.