Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 04-29-2009, 05:49 AM   #1  
~one cool chickie~

S/C/G: 250/245/135

Height: 5'8"

Question High blood pressure and heart rate for exercise

Hiya girls! I have high blood pressure that is at the moment being untreated (I know I know, I should but I can't afford insurance; I am seeking help from the state tho so no worries). And I'm kinda scared to start exercising because I really don't know how HBP plays into this whole exercise thing. How much is too much? I don't plan on pushing myself cuz I'm just starting out, but I'd really love to hear from any of you ladies that either know about this or have HBP like me and are incorporating exercise into your quest for health. Any advice is welcome!

Last edited by honeybear; 04-29-2009 at 05:49 AM.
honeybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 07:37 AM   #2  
it's always something

I'm sorry you are having to deal with this, and with no insurance it can be scary I also have HBP and do not have insurance. Here's what I would suggest for that - If you can't afford a doctors visit, find a walk-in clinic that is affordable. I've found that most doctors charge less if you don't have insurance. Call a few. Before you go, go to walmart.com and find the link to the pharmacy, then print out the list of $4 prescriptions. They have a whole section just for high blood pressure meds. Take the list and see if the doctor will prescribe something from there.

The good news is that regular exercise is a fantastic treatment for HBP. Walking, in particular, has been studied and shown to reduce blood pressure. You should also start slow. As far as how much is too much, only your doctor can tell you that.

Here's a good article from Mayo Clinic that might be of help http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/hig...essure/HI00024

Good luck!
Suzanne 3FC is offline   Reply With Quote