General chatter - Swine flu

View Full Version : Swine flu

salamroya
04-26-2009, 08:03 PM
ANyone concerend about this?

The CDC put out and emergency alert about it this morning.
Keep your hands washed and hand sanitizer on the side!

luvmy3
04-26-2009, 08:25 PM
I was reading about that! I'm concerned since I work in retail and come in contact with alot of people on a daily basis.I worry for my children more than myself.I just hope they can get this under control and we don't get it at bad as it's hit Mexico.

GatorgalstuckinGA
04-26-2009, 08:42 PM
not worries and i live in a major airport hub. We'll see what happens...more than likely it will die down and do only minor issues like most influenza cases do.

MandiK
04-26-2009, 09:13 PM
I'm concerned. I'm sure there will be a big briefing about it when I get to the hospital tomorrow....

flatiron
04-27-2009, 01:57 AM
seems like it is getting worse. 5 states now have confirmed cases in the US. The US government has put out a national health warning.

And Mexico has not shut down any of their airports only canceled large outdoor events.

I am not worried yet but this has the potential to be very bad. The CDC has been warning about this for a long time now. But they thought the avian flu would mutate first and start the human to human contagion. Swine flu surprised them all.

They have no explanation why the cases in Mexico are more fatal because it is the same flu here.

I noticed some places are recommending buying some masks and storing them in case we need them because in China when SARS broke out every mask in every store was sold out in a day and the 3M N95 mask they say is your best protection if you have to go out during a pandemic to get food or go to work.

GradPhase
04-27-2009, 02:11 AM
Slightly worried. I'm working for the tourism industry in AK this summer, which may as well be an airport hub.