Pudgy Pets - *** NUTRO Dog Food Alert ***

View Full Version : *** NUTRO Dog Food Alert ***

04-23-2009, 10:29 AM
Scary stuff! I posted this elsewhere but....

04-24-2009, 07:14 AM

Now they are saying this isn't true. I am going back to making my own dog food although my babies have never had Nutro.

04-24-2009, 12:40 PM
I feed both of my corgi's Nutro Natural Choice Venison and Brown Rice Formula dog food and neither one has had any problems. This is the only food that doesn't make Tesla, my 3 1/2 year old female, throw up because she has a sensitive stomach and is allergic to chicken. I'm constantly concerned about food quality after the dog food scare a few years ago and I have been pretty happy with Nutro.

04-24-2009, 01:22 PM
I read this a few days ago on my Labrador chat board. I've never fed Nutro (thank goodness). My dogs eat California Natural.

05-02-2009, 05:17 PM
My dog's only had Nutro for over 5 years.
I asked at the pet food strore and they said that this story is not true.
They gave me a handout that says that the report is false.
Here's a link: http://www.nutroproducts.com/nutro-food-recall-facts.shtml

Wolf Goddess
05-02-2009, 08:37 PM
Nutro is also a far superior brand to Purina, Iams, Goodlife, or Eukanuba. My dog was on their venison & brown rice recipe for a while, and he did well on it.

05-02-2009, 10:23 PM
DDC, Ruth's second link is the news story saying it isn't true.

betty grrl
07-14-2009, 02:04 AM
I used to feed my 2 pugs Nutro. There are tons of fillers in Nutro that aren't good for them (no real nutrition). Its seems Nutro went downhill when they sold out to Mars (I think this was the company). I switched my boys to Acana (a Canadian brand), and they love it! It has high quality ingredients in it as well.

08-06-2009, 01:27 PM
Wow that is scary about Nutro! Personally I would recommend Chicken soup for the dog lover's soul. It is all-natural and made with fresh ingredients. and it is pretty affordable too. here is the website if anyone wants to check it out: http://www.chickensoupforthepetloverssoul.com/

08-06-2009, 04:18 PM
If you see the second link, it was false. I'm betting it is industrial sabotage (competitor rumor).