Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Closed Thread

Old 04-02-2002, 01:23 PM   #1  
Cookin' With A Vengeance!

Talking Never Give Up!!!!!!

Hey Everyone!!

For most of us on this thread, the battles with depression and weight loss will be life long. Sometimes we need to adjust our meds, our eating programs or our attitudes. Sometimes it feels just about impossible, BUT IT ISN'T!!! To those of you thinking about getting help-DO IT!! The improvement in your life will be unbelieveable. I waited longer than I should have, but getting help (meds and therapy), enabled me to start living one of my dreams!! Not only do I enjoy and appreciate my family more now, but I have been making jewelry for the last three years with a friend. Before treatment I didn't think I was capable of something like that.

We all go through rough times. My depression was relatively under control, until I was put on progesterone, and last week I had a really rough bout. Felt like I was going crazy. I've made an appointment with the doctor, and am going to ask about upping the Paxil in response. I am not thrilled with this development, but I'd rather be healthy than overly proud or worried about the amount of meds I'm taking.

WE ARE ALL WORTH THE EFFORT, AND WE ALL DESERVE HAPPY LIVES!!!!
Old 04-08-2002, 07:19 PM   #2  

Height: 5'-2"

Hi Dentrassi...

I'm so sorry that you had a bad time last week. You've got the right attitude... don't worry about the meds... if you need them, you need them, and that's all there is to it. It's not worth jepardizing your life, your family's lives, etc just so you can say... "yes, I pulled myself together without the use of drugs".