General chatter - Bikini wax

View Full Version : Bikini wax

01determined
07-01-2008, 08:52 AM
Hi everyone - Was just wondering whether anyone has had a bikini wax before. I've booked one for this saturday and its my first time. Whats the shortest the hair can be? AND what should i expect?

snapless
07-01-2008, 09:40 AM
I tried to do a home kit once and about screamed.

I'll stick with razors for now. :p

Darby1
07-01-2008, 10:14 AM
Hair needs to be at least 1/4". I am an esthetician and can say everyone reacts differently. It is not an especially comfortable experience, but I personally don't think it's horrible. Explain to your esthetician what you want (how far up you want her to go, etc.). Ask her about after care. Some people are prone to ingrown hairs, so you want to see what she recommends.

Some people take some tylenol or motrin about an hour before their wax and that helps take the edge off.

Good luck!

ladybugnessa
07-01-2008, 10:19 AM
also make sure to exfoliate and moisturize well the few days before the big wax.

tamaralynn
07-01-2008, 01:05 PM
I've also heard that you can buy otc numbing creams... I'm going for a wax before I fly to Hawaii - never had it before LOL

:yikes:

PhotoChick
07-01-2008, 01:17 PM
Honestly I don't think they're that bad. I get a Brazilian about every 6 weeks. And I am the biggest pain wimp you'd ever meet. :)

You can take Advil or Tylenol about an hour before and that will help with the discomfort. Do exfoliate the day before but NOT the day off the wax. And be gentle with washing the day after, but after that do exfoliate with a rough washcloth to keep the hairs from becoming ingrown as they grow back.

Some people really come through it without a twinge and feel fine the next day, but some people need a recovery period. And actually some people do find the experience somewhat of a turnon in some ways.

I would say don't plan to have sex right after, however! :)

01determined
07-01-2008, 01:17 PM