100 lb. Club - Doritos and Sour Cream ARE e v i l

emeraldjules
06-08-2008, 09:18 PM
Ok, so I'm a newbie and I've made this decision I'm going to be more careful about what I eat. Holy cow batman. Maybe I should just try keeping track of what I eat in the first place, maybe I'll stop eating this crap. I detailed this in my blog earlier but here it is in a nutshell...

In two sittings today I have snarfed down 1/2 a bad of Spicy Nacho Doritos and an entire 8 oz container of Sour Cream.

Doritos consumed - roughly 6 servings @ 140 calories *6 = 840
Sour Cream - 8 servings (@ 2 Tbsp.) @ 60 calories * 8 = 480

Thus my two little snacks totaled 1320 calories… OMG that’s nearly a one day calorie intake.

:devil: made me do it

WarMaiden
06-08-2008, 09:23 PM
Portion control is definitely important if you want to lose weight.

But you can look into substitutions for the things you like to snack on, too. For example, plain nonfat yogurt substitutes pretty well for sour cream. I mix up half a cup of yogurt with a tablespoon of mayonnaise, some chopped garlic, and some cayenne or chili powder for a great dip for chips. That way, it's actually contributing to my health. And then for chips, I measure out a portion and put the bag away. Sometimes I will get baked chips instead of regular, too, so I'm not eating a lot of extra fat.

Anyways, point is, a healthy, sustainable diet includes healthy snacking.

CHUNKEY_MUNKEY
06-08-2008, 09:23 PM
they are hard to resist i know ! i love dorito's im on Weight Watchers i try to factor a bag into my points evrey day (you know the little 25 cents bags ) but its soo hard i used to scarf down an entire jumbo bag in one sitting .... over come the craving !! dont let it get the best of you !

GradPhase
06-08-2008, 09:26 PM
Oh my goodness, SOOO true!!

My boyfriend and I used to snack on doritos and salsa almost every night. Definitely had to put an end to that! It was definitely one of my all-or-nothing vices!

PhotoChick
06-08-2008, 09:27 PM