Old 11-15-2007, 06:52 PM   #1  

Default Am I thinking clearly here?

Hello...I'm trying to lose the last 10 pounds by 12/31 to reach a 96lbs weight loss goal for 2007. I'm eating 1200 calories a day and walking twice a day (morning & evening) to burn 600+ calories per session...Total of 1200+ calories burned in 1 day. I do this program 3 days a week & the remaining 4 days I will burn 600+ per day. I thought I would be losing "more" quickly, like 2-3 lbs per week.... Instead I'm losing 1 - 2 lbs per week. This week I have actually gained a pound ......ugh... What is wrong with this approach?
I appreciate your thoughts...TIA
law1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 07:33 PM   #2  
Out there trying

S/C/G: 185/127/125

Height: 5'4"

First of all congratulations on your weight loss so far! That's amazing.

Well, I am no expert but I think you're way overestimating on the calories burned. I don't know the weight you're at now but I think you would have to be walking at a brisk pace for many hours to burn 1200 calories.

I think you're probably in a great spot eating 1200 calories a day and losing 1-2 lbs. per week is great, especially if you're close to your goal weight. It sounds like you're on the right track and maybe your wish to lose more isn't realistic. Even at your current weight loss you could definitely make your goal by the end of the year.

And, the odd gain of a pound just seems to happen sometimes...my body is a mystery to me in many ways!

There are a lot of great people on this site with a lot more knowledge than I have. I think if you wanted to post a sample of your daily food, maybe people could help identify ways of improving.

Good Luck!

elisa822 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 07:38 PM   #3