Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 08-26-2007, 01:39 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 220/194/150

Height: 5'7

Default New running shoes & blisters?!!

Hey,

I got fitted for running shoes at a reputable store. they checked my foot/arch/ gait, ect... the shoes support my foot and feel good.

Today I went for my first attempted run. I lasted about 1.5 minutes ( it's a start), and walked the rest ( about 45 minutes) My shoes have caused blisters on the backs of my heels, where the shoes rubbed up. I had socks on that covered the area....

Is this because the shoes need to be broken in? The blisters aren't anything unbearable, it's just enough to notice.

since I'm new to this running thing, I just wanted to know if this is normal at first?

Thanks in adv.
Optical Goddess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 02:35 PM   #2  
Heather 2.0

S/C/G: 290/281/139

Height: 5'8"

Oooh - that doesn't sound good or comfortable! I ran in my new shoes the same day I got them and they never rubbed or hurt anywhere

My suggestion, in all honesty, is to take them back to the store - explain the situation, and maybe they can remedy the situation (either with those shoes, or others)... maybe someone else has a better suggestion?

Heather
HeatherAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 06:47 PM   #3  

Height: 5'7"

You can try some bodyglide or vaseline on the area, but I'd take them back to the store. The only time I get blisters is if my shoes don't fit properly, unless something strange happens, like running in rain, or way way increasing mileage.

Anne
AnneWonders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 07:10 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 209/209/160

Height: 5'9

Yep, return 'em. They don't fit properly. I bought new running shoes after similar gait analysis a couple of weeks ago and I've been running comfortably in them ever since. No blisters or pain.
baffled111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 12:09 AM   #5