Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 07-03-2007, 09:59 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 295/225/back to Onederland

Height: 5'5"

Default Setting Fitness Goals

I would like to take the focus off the scale set some fitness/exercise goals for myself. But I am not good at setting goals like this, apparently. I had a hard enough time setting a weight goal, and there's really only one choice there: pick a number!

But for fitness, there are so many ways you can go: different activities, and then within those, different kinds of goals... If you're a runner, you can shoot for "personal bests" for time or distance. Someone who lifts could set a goal of number of pounds you lift, etc...

So, I'm just looking for ideas/information. Tell me YOUR fitness goals... either when you first started, or now.

For those of you who've been at this a while, how do your goals change and evolve?

And finally, how do you decide? How do you prioritize, etc...

So, don't worry about helping me set any goals, just tell me about YOU!!
Heather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:34 AM   #2  
Wanna be below 200!

S/C/G: 289/see ticker/150

Height: 5ft7

Hi there,
For me its just about pushing myself a little bit further, and increasing the amount each week, even if its just running an extra 5 minutes a day, it builds me up gradually. I guess it depends what sort of exercise your doing on what your goals are, for me with running its quite easy to have an ultimate goal.
crazy helen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 03:12 PM   #3  
Ilene the Bean

I just go with the flow... Bike longer and harder... Lift heavier and with more intensity... Run a few more minutes... I just don't really "think" about my exercising, I just do them...

Over the years they've just evolved. I remember when I started seriously biking I thought 10K was far... Now 10k is nothing, I usually average 20+k/day without even blinking an eye...