Old 05-24-2007, 12:18 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 201/ticker/145

Height: 5'7"

Arrow Please Stop Me if I'm Crazy

At work we do something called the "Weight Loss Challenge" for a 7 week period, co-workers ante up $20.00 and compete to see who can lose the biggest percentage of their body weight. I won the one in January by losing 15 pounds and got $260.00. This time I'm in second place, and there is only one week left. I've been losing weight incredibly slowly and have had trouble staying on plan. I'm hoping that if there is a way of "jump starting" my weight loss with a one week plan I could tie.

Yes, this is all about pride and money and not really about sustainable weight loss. I feel I can go back to sustainable weight loss the week after the challenge.

I'm kind of considering doing one of those soup diet, or no-carb diet. I've never done a fad diet before and it sends off all sorts of warning lights in my head. I don't care if the weight loss I see is simply a drop in water weight. I do care if I lose muscle weight. That would be unacceptable.

I don't want to risk my health but I was hoping there was someway to stay in the competition. Please tell me if you have any safe ideas, or just let me know if I'm letting competition drive me bonkers.
Romeos Girly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 12:42 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 218/175/155

Height: 5'6"

I would listen to your body. If these thoughts are signaling "warning lights" in your mind then don't do it! Although winning is wonderful, it's not worth ruining your metabolism over (or losing muscle~like you mentioned.)

You are doing so wonderful already! You are over 1/2 way to your goal. That is something to be proud of!
zenor77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 09:10 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 141

Height: 5 5