Chicks in Control Overeating? Binging? Share uplifting support and gain control!

Old 05-08-2007, 05:08 AM   #1  
Geek and like it.

Location: i am neither greek nor athenian, but a citizen of the world.

Default about mind, not body...(I'm new)

After seeing this forum's title, I knew it was for me. To gain control in my relationship with food would make me so much happier. I have been everywhere in my short life from fat to institutionalised for anorexia...I must have the world's worst food relationship!
So hi! I'm a college student at Cambridge in the UK, and whilst everyone else is swotting single-mindedly for exams, I am swotting and obsessing. I'm half Iraqi and grew up surrounded by rich food, family and my father's love - when he died when I was eight I started fridge-raiding in earnest. So I know I associate food with love/acceptance/comfort - I just don't know what do to about it! On top of which, I'm a control freak, and when I diet I really diet. I'm not letting myself eat much right now and it's affecting my mind/revision. My happy weight is 105lbs - I've been MUCH more and MUCH less, and some sad part of me always wants to be 'my lowest ever' but I know where that leads... Right now I'm 106 and hate it, hate my belly, etc. Even though I know that logically I'm not fat. Anyways I joined here cos everyone seemed so nice and supportive. Here are my goals:

- to not let the scale control my mood
- to never do the pattern of eating hardly anything all day then stuffing face at night
- to be more comfortable eating in public
- to understand that food is just food and nothing more
- not to lay this stuff on my mother so much
- and to get a first!

Ironically I'm probably closest to the last one. Well I'd love to hear if there's anyone out there who can relate to my experiences and good luck to all xxx
Me23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 09:20 AM   #2  

Height: 5'-2"

Me23, welcome!