Exercise! - Biker Chicks Chat

View Full Version : Biker Chicks Chat

jamsk8r
03-24-2007, 07:42 PM
Starting a new thread here. The outdoorsy types have started up a chat, but with the new thread, I thought we should invite spinners, too, or anybody on any kind of bike for that matter. Feel free to report your miles/time, ask a question, or just have a chat.

:welcome3:

I'm still a newb, only up to 4 miles at a go right now, every other day. I chose cycling as a motivator, and I'm trying to work up to 30 miles (in one ride)/30 lbs down by my birthday (6/26) this year. There's a fun ride around that time, and my sister and I have signed up to do the 30 mile route. I'm taking it slow, but it seems to be working and is still fun to do.

Goal (mi/lbs): 30/30 by June 26
Current: 4/8
Today's ride: 4 miles

Cheryl

mudbug
03-24-2007, 08:59 PM
hello jamsk8r,
Thanks for the welcome! Sounds like your on your way to meeting your weight loss and biking goals. It all starts with a plan! When I'm riding I feel
light and free as a feather, when I'm walking my hips and feet hurt,so I think
biking is the way for me to get my exercise in. GOT out today and rode 7mi
I think I could of done more if I drank more water, got a bit warm [82] and
dehydrated. I try to have something to eat 30 before...like a powerbar I
seem to be able to ride longer.

goal 20 mi rides

currant 7-8mi

today's 7

jamsk8r
03-24-2007, 09:49 PM
Thanks for the tip on eating first, Mudbug. I will give that a try and see if it makes a difference on my next ride. Good luck to you, with your 20 mile ride goal! I fell off the wagon with my eating for about 10 days, because I ran low on funds to restock the good food, but I'm back on track now, and hoping to see the scale start moving down again this week. I can really tell the difference in how I feel when I'm eating right. Wish I'd figured this out about 80 lbs ago!

Cheryl

CinnamonGirl
03-24-2007, 10:31 PM
Hi "Biker" Chickies :wave: (I liked that name, Cheryl!)