Support Groups - In search of teachers losing weight!

Chestnutlass
01-09-2007, 01:54 PM
Hi everyone!

I am 24 and a 3rd year teacher. I am currently teaching 4th grade. I love my job, but it can make weight loss hard. I seem to work a lot of hours (grading paper and lesson plans take forever!!!) and eating healthy is also a challange. My kids are always bringing me "treats" and the faculty room!! Yikes there is always something delicious!

Just looking for some tips and maybe some buddies that can help in the very special place of teaching!

babybelly
01-09-2007, 04:06 PM
Hi my name is Angela and I have mia for a couple of months. We used to have a very active teacher thread but since October it has really died. I am also a 4th grade teacher. I had a baby in June and lost all of my baby weight right away but I still have some weight I need to lose. I did really well for a while but when I returned to school I put several pounds back on. Now that the holidays are over I really need to get busy losing again. I will try to stay active again and hopefully some of the other teachers will start posting again.

Mami
01-09-2007, 04:35 PM
Maybe you can start a weightloss group with some of the other school employees. Perhaps meet once a week for an hour. This way you'll have support when going into the lounge so you'll avoid the snacks. I wish the girls around my job wanted to do this, I had hinted but no biters!

sooooperbizee
01-09-2007, 09:58 PM
Howdy! I'm a 4th year teacher, teaching 3rd grade!
I started sort of reducing my sugar intake mid-Nov., but got really serious Dec. 6th. I'm down 15 pounds so far.

It's funny, because people laugh at me at school because when I need to make copies, I carry each page to the copy machine one at a time, make that copy, then walk all the way back to my room for the next page. Hey, whatever it takes, right?

I also quit eating school lunches, even though I LOVE our cooks and their great food!