Does it Work? - wellbutrin

View Full Version : wellbutrin

phatgirl
12-19-2006, 02:31 AM
I have depression and decided to go on antidepressants. I chose wellbutrin XL 150mg because I want the activating effects + the weight loss benefits. I know weight loss can be minimal but I am wondering if anyone here has had experience with Wellbutrin (buproprion) and if it has impacted your weight at all. Thanks!

jourdain
12-19-2006, 03:56 AM
I took Wellbutrin for about 2 months (disclaimer: I took it for anti-smoking, so it may have affected my metabolism a bit different) and saw no effect on my appetite or weight. According to my drug book (I'm an RN student), weight loss IS a common side effect, so maybe it just didn't affect me or I wasn't on it long enough. I do know that it made me dizzier than heck though.

Good luck and best wishes!

Sassy_Chick
12-25-2006, 08:07 AM
I've taken Wellbutrin off an on for a while. I am currently back on it and yes, for me it does suppress my appetite. But that is about it..............So I guess yes it can help assist in weightloss, but probably not with everybody. I wouldn't count on it at least. If it does help, then that is just an added bonus. ;)

:goodluck:

BMI2HI
12-25-2006, 09:27 PM
I have been on that med and saw no benefits. However, I will say that I found it much easier to resist food or to not give in to cravings. So, I am still trying

Kamike
12-30-2006, 02:11 AM
My doctor prescribed it just for weight loss. It seemed to curb my appetite, and it made me happy, so i liked it.

shrinkingchica
01-01-2007, 01:22 AM
The study group was with bulimics and they lost on average about 5 whole lbs so for weight loss only purposes this is definately NOT a good idea.

I say that because some people I have heard are going on it purely for weight loss and that is ludicris especially since a side effect is seizures.

train
01-01-2007, 02:56 AM