Old 09-09-2010, 12:30 AM   #1  
Shifty Werewolf

S/C/G: 285/209/165

Height: 5'5"

Default Menopause = weightloss slow down?

I know it is harder to lose weight post-menopause but when does that "harder" part kick in?

I started this journey back in February 2010 right after I turned 52. No signs of menopause to speak of. I've been losing weight pretty good - 10 pounds a month - on 1500 calories a day and very moderate exercise so I think I'm pretty lucky!

May and August I had two TOMs which is very unusual for me but someone in some topic here said that's pretty common when you are losing weight as your body has extra estrogen released from fat cells. Sounds reasonable.

Today I had my first hot flashes so I must be in some stage of menopause. I'm thinking I should maybe go in for that physical I've been putting off for a few years. Sort of get a baseline...

But is my weightloss mojo going to keep on a for a while like it has been? Or will I see a slow down fairly soon? Does your metabolism only slow down post-menopause or does the slow down start right at the very beginning? What have the rest of you experienced?

thanks!

Last edited by Vladadog; 09-09-2010 at 03:44 AM. Reason: fixed my 150 calories a day to 1500!
Vladadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 02:16 AM   #2  
Happy Plodder

S/C/G: 238/158.9/138

Height: 5'2"

Heehee, please tell me that's 1500, not 150!

I'm 55 and fully menopaused. I'm currently re-losing what I lost last year, and have notes ~ I'm losing at Exactly the same rate as last year.
and when I lost a lot 6-8 years ago, when the menopause was still on the horizon, it was at a slower rate than now.

Just looked at your ticker ~ wow! you're doing Very Well! Well done!

Edited to add: when I was losing last year, I too had an unexpected Flo-call, 2 years after she quit. It alarmed the doctors and I got the tests and probes and scans, oh my; but I think it was the oestrogen.