UK Fat Chicks Meet dieters in your area, discuss weight and food issues unique to the UK.

Old 03-01-2017, 12:01 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 207/131/126

Height: 5'3

Default Newbie! Struggling with the mirror

Hello all!

I have lost 30lbs in 3 months and I am absolutely thrilled with my progress. I have never tried dieting before but one day something clicked in my head, this decision was a strong foundation and while at 3 months this is early days, I am not struggling with my diet plan or slowly increasing my activity levels and fitness though I still have another 40lbs to go.

What I am struggling with is the mirror and clothes! At 20lbs I noticed my clothes were much looser and now at 30lbs down, I look awful in my old things. The problem is I have not lost weight evenly which to my eyes has made me look far worse(not that I intend to put the weight back on!). My legs have slimmed down far faster than my stomach and hips. While I *know* my stomach has shrunk, when I look in the mirror my gut looks like it sticks out far more than it did before and I now feel far more self conscious about my size than when I was 30 lbs heavier.

Whenever I have tried on new things I get a brief moment of self congratulation for fitting into a UK size 14(down from 16/18) but when I look in the mirror, all I see is my shelf-like belly. Like there are big neon flashing arrows pointing at it.

I naively thought that when I lost weight I would rejoice with every little change but I am finding this rather tricky.

Would love to hear from people who have gone through the same!

Thanks all! xxx
weeangrything is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 01:44 PM   #2  
Here to Learn

S/C/G: 225/140/135

Height: 5'5"