Closed Thread

Old 09-11-2005, 03:39 PM   #1  
Southside White Sox Fan

Question Chicken Stock vs. Chicken Broth

Ok, I'm a cook but not the smartest of cooks. I have a recipe for Homestyle Chicken Barley Soup that I'll be making tonight. It calls for 1 cup chicken stock and 2 1/2 cups of water. I want to use Swanson's Chicken Broth. I want it to have a full bodied chicken flavor. Is Chicken broth chicken stock? It seems like chicken broth must be less intense than stock.

I'm thinking that 2 1/2 cups water in 1 cup broth would taste like water. Any suggestions?
Old 09-11-2005, 03:57 PM   #2  

Vickie, I'm thinking for your purposes, broth would probably work just fine. Maybe monkey with the broth to water ratio a little if you want it more flavorful.

I found this online. It's probably more than you ever wanted to know.

"The basic differences between a broth and a stock lies in its "properties". For example, a chicken broth will react differently when deglazing a sauté pan than a chicken stock. The reason for this is that the chicken stock will contain more gelée (gelée=gelatine=dissolved cartilage) than chicken broth and will bind up the pan drippings into a pan sauce as the stock is reduced, replacing the alternative of cream or butter to aid in this process. The type of chicken parts used in the pot and the amount of extraction of gelée depends on the length of reduction. These are the key factors to consider in determining whether you are making chicken stock or chicken broth. Let us take a moment and review these key factors in chicken broth and chicken stock.