Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 05-22-2005, 08:34 PM   #1  

Unhappy In Need of a little Encouragement

Hi there, I'm brand new to this. I need to lose about 60 pounds. I've lost some in the past but then I got sloppy and need some support. This site looks like just the ticket. I am a Type II Diabetic so my diet is basically to watch my carbs. Right now, however, I am doing a miserable job of that. I am very addicted to carbs right now and I know the only way out of this eating muddle I've made is to go through "carb withdrawal." Any thoughts, suggestions or encouragements on doing that would be much appreciated! Thanks!
FlannelAnnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 02:53 AM   #2  

Hi FlannelAnnie, it can be really daunting starting out, but there is lots of help out there, including us!!! Both my parents have type 2, and I am doing this before I am next in the genetic lottery. Have you seen a dietician/nutritionist?? You should be getting some sort of medical help to do this safely. As you probably know, not all carbs are equal, and there are good carbs (those that are low GI) which will help you to lose weight. There are plenty of books out there about low GI diets, and basically any diabetic plan will in its nature be low GI without the trendy labelling!!!

Don't get discouraged, and one of my big things is don't put yourself on a time scale. I have over 100 pounds to lose, and basically look at a loss of 1 to 2 pounds a week (when it is two pounds I run around the gym where I way in doing a happy dance - the gym staff are much happier when I lose 1, apparently I am quite scary!!!)

Losing it this way, it will take me two years to get to goal, which is fine with me, as long as I lose steadily, don't put it back on, I am happy with that.

Best of luck with your healthy weight loss journey!!!
kykaree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 07:12 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 233.9/143/160

Height: 5'7"