Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 04-01-2005, 11:33 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 230/220/150

Height: 5'5

Default Dieting with the College Caf

Hi all-

I found this on Google and liked the website. I am a college student in my early twenties and just now committing to a workout plan. I have been overweight since grade school and I am now doing something to change that. I am having a hard time working on a food plan. All of my meals are at the school cafeteria, and I have been sticking to low-fat salads and veggie sandwiches, but they are starting to get boring. Does anyone have advice on how to diet while in college? I would appreciate anyone's comments.
helomaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 01:56 PM   #2  
Downsizing

Height: 5'7"

are you a vegetarian? Where are you getting your protein?
MeredithP1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 08:37 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 230/220/150

Height: 5'5

I'm not a vegetarian....it's just that any meat served in the cafeteria is really sketchy, but at home for breaks I eat meats except for red meat. I try to get protein in by adding kidney beans to my salads, and I know that I should have more protein in my diet. Any tips?
helomaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 11:48 AM   #4  
aka Superwoman!

S/C/G: SW:226/16st - about 50lbs lost

Height: 5'8"

Eggs are a great source of protein (but they may look rancid the way your college caff does them ). Also try snacking on cheese, babybels are good, and they come in light form.

Do you have a chiller in your room? You could keep healthy snacks in there that you can complement your salads with. Maybe buy some pre-packed cooked chicken to put in your salads, you could take it to the cafe with you...?
2frustrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 01:52 PM   #5  
Delicious Microwaved!

Hey there helomaa!