Old 02-01-2005, 04:13 PM   #1  

Default Thoughts on loose skin

Hi,

I usually lurk and post occasionally. I’ve appreciated the community the 100 lb club really has and the support you give everyone who participates, even those of us who just kind of wander by. I hope that you might help with a little motivation issue that I have that keeps recurring but it is a fairly personal question. I hope I word this well.

I’ve been working off and on at the weight loss for nearly two years now. I have a pattern of getting really gung ho for a couple of weeks or a month or two but at some point, I crash and burn. Then it takes another month or two to get back to being serious about the effort. The “crash and burn” stage almost always starts with thoughts about how, no matter how hard I work at this, how much success I have with this, in the end, I’m still not going to be “normal.” Because of the choices I’ve made and the choices I’m making now, I will lose ~230 lbs. That’s going to translate into a lot of loose skin. It gets to feel like it’s not worth even trying, because I can’t really succeed – I’ll never be normal or right or even okay looking. I’ve never thought of myself as vain, but there it is. (I’ve seen way too many of those plastic surgery shows – “Bucket Full of Skin” was not helpful.) I know I’ll continue to try – I’d like to live to see my daughters have daughters and staying this way doesn’t make that likely. I know there are so many more reasons to lose the weight. I want to shift my perception to stop the “crash and burn” cycle.

So the question is – do you think about the end result not being exactly what you’d hoped for? What your thoughts and feelings on loose skin (and the other “after effects” of being overweight and losing it)?

With many thanks,
Keillynsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 04:51 PM   #2  

How do I feel? Sad, regretful, frustrated, praying for a lottery win so I can afford reconstructive surgery.