Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 05-26-2004, 01:55 PM   #1  
on my way down!

Default Running question...

I just wondered if anyone could help me?

I have just started running at night when i get home from work and am only managing about 10 mins at the moment before im back at my door step puffing and panting...so my question is while im building that up so that i can last longer do you think the 10 mins im doing each night will help any?? Alsong with the 10 minutes running (pathetic i know!) i also power walk my greyhounds for about 20 minutes too.

Any opinions would be welcomed!!
Toryw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 05:15 PM   #2  

Default running

hi,
i don't think jogging for ten minutes is pathetic at all!
i'm not a fitness expert but i've done some research so this is what i learned.

don't run so hard that you are so exausted when you get home. you could try interval training...it works well for increasing your stamina and endurance. try something along these lines and adjust it for your present fitness level
walk for a couple minutes at moderate pace (a little faster than a stroll)
then walk just a little faster but still moderately for another minute
now either walk quickly or jog slowly for 1 minute
slow down to a moderate walk for 3 to 5 minutes until you are not out of breath and are feeling comfortable again
quick walk or slow jog for another minute
repeat this for 20 to 30 minutes or less if you can't go that long
but if you rest well between spurts and go at your own pace you should be able to go that long...listen to your body

as you get more fit decrease your walking to jogging ratio
ex:2min walk:1 minjog
3mins walk: 2 mins jog and so on
it's important for you to go slow and steady and keep at it
you will stick with your plan longer and you wont get injured
you could even do this as you walk your dog if it's big enough and your dog will benefit too!
good luck
i hope this helps
gen