PCOS/Insulin Resistance Support Support for us with any of the following: Insulin Resistance, Syndrome X, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, or other endocrine disorders.

Old 03-26-2004, 08:52 PM   #1  

Smile Hello all! Just found out I have IR! Eek! ;)

Hello ladies!

I am Aminah, 25, married, in the US, and I am a teacher. I just found out today that I have insulin resistance. I am relieved in a way, because I've been feeling like garbage lately, and this might explain some of it. For many years, frankly, I've had problems with weight, irregular psycho periods, occasional depression, lethargy, etc. Not to say that the IR and possible PCOS is the only factor, but it's a start to know something truly IS wrong. For the longest time, I just thought I was fat and therefore gluttonous, and gluttonous and therefore fat! I got married last summer to the man of my dreams and we decided not to take any precautions, and let nature take its course. It didn't, not in the way we wanted...well, since marriage, I have gained 30 pounds (oh, the humanity!) and started a course of Wellbutrin. And my husband is an absolute prince, I thank God every day because if he were a jerk I would be totally nuts by now!