Old 10-18-2014, 12:13 PM   #1  
Started IP August 28 2014

S/C/G: 265/215/140

Height: 5'7''

Default Ideal Protein-- weight loss stalled bc of Veggie burgers or eggs?

Ideal Protein

I am on week 7 of phase 1 ideal protein. I have lost 30 pounds. However I lost most of it in the 1st 4 weeks and have been stuck at the same weight (keep going up and down the same 3 pounds for the last 3 weeks). The only thing I have changed is that I have begun eating the vegetarian "meats" from the list my counselor gave me of approved veggie options. I asked her if it would slow down my progress and she said that it shouldn't... But I feel like it is. (I was just seriously sick of meat since I'm not a huge meat eater normally, although I'm not technically a vegetarian).

Anyone else out there experience this?! I do eat eggs sometimes too, and I think that coupled with the carbs in the veggie burgers that meat just doesnt have might be part of the problem. Perhaps if I eat 2 eggs I should forgo an IP food? (I eat the eggs to supplement the protein since 2 boca burgers are only 5 ounces of protein as well as lower in grams of protein).

I hate to go back to meat, but I will if it helps lose the weight faster. I am still 30 pounds from my half way mark to my goal-- and sticking to this diet is getting harder and harder.

Last edited by Snozzeberries; 10-18-2014 at 12:52 PM. Reason: More descriptive title
Snozzeberries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 02:17 PM   #2  
Reboot 11 June 2018

S/C/G: 262.8/226.0/160

Height: 5'6

Hey Snozzeberries!

Are you taking an enzyme supplement at all? With the higher ratio of protein your body may be struggling to process it effectively.

Hubby and I have also found it hard to eat 8oz protein in one sitting - pre-IP we had mainly veggies with 4-5oz meat so it took a while before our stomachs (and digestion) got used to more in one sitting.