Old 10-17-2014, 03:53 AM   #1  

Default NEW cannot get enough

I am new to overeaters and this site. I need to lose at least 100 pounds. I am disgusted with myself and am often depressed. I know I need to eat better and exercise. I just can't seem to stop eating. I literally look forward to mealtime. I place way too much pleasure in food or something. I don't know how to stop and I am afraid I will never be happy with my reflection. Just looking for initial advice or support?
Kat1188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 10:12 AM   #2  
onedayatatimer

S/C/G: 224/ticker/145-155

Height: 5'9.5"

Welcome Kat1188! I'm in OA as well and I've been on this site for a long time. I can't tell you what to do or feel, so all I can do is share my experience, strength and hope, as they say in OA.

First, I try to focus on one day at a time. Thinking of how I'll feel and worrying about results doesn't help. Rather than focus on results, just focus on action and leave the rest to your Higher Power.

Do you have a Sponsor? It's important to put together a food plan. Have you figured out your red light, yellow light and green light foods?

When I can't stop thinking about meals, I read my OA literature, make phone calls to other members...in other words, use the tools.

There's so much to learn from the program...it's so much more than about the food. I'm an addict and I have a monster in my brain that can make me very unhappy. Embracing OA has helped me a great deal and I'm so much happier, even though I still have all the same problems that I had before in my life (except for the weight).

Sending you lots of hugs.
luckymommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 08:18 PM   #3