View Single Post
Old 05-12-2014, 09:08 PM   #39
lisa32989
IP start 7/30/2012

S/C/G: 260.2/186 /163

Height: 5'5"

Quote:
Originally Posted by lycheetea View Post
I'm pretty new to IP, finishing up Week 1. This forum's been a huge help! I do like the recipes that are posted, but am having a hard time finding them/keeping up. Is there an easier way to look at the recipes than going through each post of the multiple recipe threads? Sometimes I see one I like, go away and then try to find it again by googling/forum search, but even then don't necessarily find it again...
Several people have tried organizing but it's never panned out
Just make sure to cut/paste the ones you want into a word doc

Quote:
Originally Posted by miholmes View Post
Is it okay to have the burger with no bun, tons of pickles and lettuce? (I posted the question about it here last week) Anyway I'm seeing results and that's fantastic...but the old cravings are still there.

So I was kind of toying with a 1 cheat day a month. Just to kind of have something to hold out until. Is this a terrible idea? I know it sets me back 3 days. But in the long run, I'm wondering if it's worth it.... idk.

I mean I don't want to go hog wild, but a piece of cake on my birthday with some ice cream, or that special dinner you love. Am I justifying? Is it okay? I know I'm on phase 1 until the weight is lost and most people want to plow through until it's lost.
Burger sounds great!

Re cheat
I've got 2 takes (maybe 3)

First there is the old "If you allow cheat it'll be easier to cheat again" I wholeheartedly believe that. All you need to do is read for a few weeks here and see it over and over again.

But... Extremely Low carb diets can be hard on the thyroid. I am having thyroid problems that I may not have had had taken a break every so often. There is a schedule for cycling on/off in Lyle McDonald's The Rapid Fat Loss Handbook (PDF available online).

And...there is a thing called mental health, also.