Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 05-08-2014, 08:08 PM   #1  

S/C/G: CW:110 GW: 100

Height: 5'1

Red face Best and Effective Workouts without weights

Any tips for a beginner, stiff body that needs to start off with the basic
And how many times per day and for how long.

I don't have funds for the gym or muscle mas proteins and such
And I need to loose some weight and also tone up for the summer.

If you have any daily routines you might do in the morning like stretching exercise to be flexible would be helpful as well.

I'm extremely lazy type so starting easy would help.

Thank you
Shortycan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:45 PM   #2  
Once + Future Skinny B***

S/C/G: 195/148.6/115

Height: 5'3

I have no experience with weight/strength training, but hatha yoga has changed my life! I used to be a dancer (ballet) until I ruined my knee when I was 20, and after leaving, my body became so stiff and inflexible. Yoga helped me regain my flexibility, balance and posture. I was too afraid to attend classes in the beginning (although I do now, but it can get pricy if you're on a strict budget) so I learned by watching videos online - YouTube has a zillion, from each basic pose to full hour-long sessions. It's a great way to learn in the privacy of your own home without spending a single cent!

I go to a 30-minute class in the morning, I do it for ~15 minutes after cardio to cool down and again for about 15 minutes before bed. It helps immensely if you have a large mirror - even a skinny full-length mirror from WalMart ($15) would help a lot - so you can see what you're doing and make adjustments as necessary. It will be difficult in the beginning, so stick to basic/easy poses and work on mastering those before you move on to more advanced poses.