General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 05-02-2014, 04:07 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 166/145/115

Height: 5'4

Default Applied to a job, feel like I'm under-qualified?

I'm 21, 2 classes away from a bachelor's, and have very little experience in the workforce, let alone in the healthcare industry. That said, students in my major got an email from our career development adviser of a job opening. I applied and got an email from them 2 days later asking to schedule an interview. I definitely don't think I'm qualified for the position and have made it clear on my application that I have very little experience in the healthcare field - to even emailing the interviewer about this and she stated that I am qualified, and that they are working on changing their job requirements. Should I really do the interview, knowing that if given the job, I may just be thrown into the company and not know how to do anything? It seems like a good opportunity with great pay and I'm all for learning new things as I go, it just made me question as to why they didn't get someone who is more qualified?

Advice please!
Bloopers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 04:15 PM   #2  
Call me NNS!

S/C/G: 232.6/169.4/149

Height: 5'5"

It doesn't matter how qualified you are, at any new job, you're really not going to know how to do your job! What they're looking for is someone who can learn how to do it and has the proper knowledge base to do it well. They certainly would not have asked you to interview if they didn't see you had the necessary qualities.