View Single Post
Old 04-20-2014, 08:34 AM   #21
Wannabehealthy
Struggling Dieter

I'm no expert, but I think binging comes from denying yourself what you really want. If I am craving something that I don't think I should eat, I try eating something else to satisfy my hunger. When that doesn't work, I try something else. Before long, I've overeaten so many things but didn't satisfy my craving. I think if I had just eaten what I was craving I would have been satisfied and stopped there. If that happens to be a trigger food that starts a binge, then it's a different story. But if eating some ice cream will satisfy your craving then you're ahead of the game.

Here is how I stopped binging on bad foods. I have diabetes and would rather control it with diet and exercise than with meds. I read Joel Fuhrmans book The End of Diabetes, which uses his Eat to Live plan. He emphasizes lots and lots of vegetables, no starchy carbs and a little protein, because the vegetables are giving you the micronutirents your body wants. I started eating the vegetables but was still eating the bad foods. I knew that wasn't the way you're supposed to do it, but I was having a hard time letting go. But eventually, with larger quantities of vegetables I started letting go of the sweets, bread, pasta, rice, etc. Sometimes I actually crave brussels sprouts! Who does that? LOL If your body is getting more nutrients, it doesn't want those empty calories. Now I very rarely eat starchy carbs. I didn't say "never" I said "rarely." It doesn't have the attraction it once did. I just don't binge on it any more. I'm old. In my 60's. Most of my aches and pains are gone. And my diabetes is back under control.