Old 02-25-2014, 09:48 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 274/271/160

Height: 5'8"

Default Do you do count anything besides calories?

Hi! I'm a newb WW reject. LOL! First I want to say I've been reading these boards for the past three days and it seems to be a great place! Hi everyone!

I've done WW a few times with some success. I also did Atkins for a year but gained it all back. But I did learn quite a bit about myself in the process. With Atkins I discovered you don't have to be hungry to lose weight! Wierd! But I think WW encourages carby eating, which just makes me hungry! So I have decided to compromise and go with calorie counting. But I also track carbs. I'm not crazy with it, but I try to keep my daily carbs under 150. I also make sure if I eat something with carbs I add in something with protien and/or fat to level out my blood sugar. I discovered that on WW my main issue with "will power" was more about blood sugar than emotions. I can say no to the junk unless I'm having a blood sugar low. Then all bets are off!

So far it's working. OK, all of 3 days, but hey you have to start somewhere! LOL!

I try to eat three meals a day, plus two snacks and a dessert. My meals can be a little smaller because I know I have a snack coming soon. My snacks are things like an apple and a low fat cheese stick. Desserts have been sugar free pudding made with skim milk, or a Skinny Cow dessert.

So I'm still eating the same type of stuff I ate on Weight Watchers, but I pay attention to the combination of foods. I guess it's the glycemic index really. It makes a HUGE difference in my happiness level while counting calories.

BTW I use FitDay and it counts all the stuff for me. I just put in my entire plan for the day every morning, and then see if I need to adjust anywhere. Not too difficult!

So does anyone else here count carbs or other things besides calories?

Nice to meet you all!

Edie
ediesbeads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 12:11 PM   #2  

S/C/G: see ticker