Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 02-08-2014, 04:57 PM   #1  

Default Hi! New here.

Hello!

I'm not new to this site, I've done Ideal Protein before, but I've never posted in this section. So here is a little back story.

I'm 28 and from New Orleans, LA. I am a Pastry Chef and Cake Decorator.

I was always really thin but after hurricane Katrina I became depressed, my asthma became worse so I was placed on strong steroids, and we were living in a hotel eating nothing but junk! It was a recipe for disaster and I quickly gained a large amount of weight. Not only had I lost my home and most of my belonging and was starting over somewhere strange, with the weight gain I felt I lost myself. I felt like I was in an alien body. I still feel that way sometimes. It has been a very hard road for me and losing the weight has been harder than I ever imagined. Since then I have tried many "diets" and have been diagnosed with some conditions. Such as rheumatoid arthritis and fibromyalgia, which also make exercise difficult. But I think the number one culprit in my weight loss struggles has been my depression. I have lost weight and gained it back over and over... I start going strong, working out, losing weight but then I begin to get depressed and I backslide...

So I'm here to get help and advice on how to overcome being so down some days getting out of bed is the hardest thing to do, wanting to work out so bad but never being able to force myself to do it, wanting to eat healthy but becoming depressed and letting all of my hard work go to waste. Sometimes talking to people who understand where your coming from makes all the difference. I also hope I can be there to help other who may need my help too!

Thanks for reading and I hope to get to know many of you!
WhoDat730 is offline   Reply With Quote