Old 01-08-2014, 06:44 AM   #1  

Default fitbit help?

I see a number of people in the 1000 mile challenge have something called fitbit. I am so ignorant about tech stuff. Is this a thing that can tell you how many miles you have run? Does it figure distance by using a satellite or does it count steps like a pedometer? Do you have to have a smart phone or a computer to use it? Do you have to pay a monthly fee to use it? Thanks for answering dumb questions.
Tabbycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 07:03 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 96/83.2/75

Height: 5'7"/170cm

There's a bunch of different 'Fitbit' products as that's the brand. They are like an advanced pedometer I guess. The one I have also tracks distance, stairs, calories burned, activity minutes and sleep. I'm not exactly sure how it tracks things, I'm not technically savvy either but it matches up (distance wise) to other apps I've used for distance like Nike+ and Map My Run that use GPS. I think it has to be hooked up to a computer or smart phone, mine's hooked up to my computer, just so that it keeps long term stats. It syncs whenever it's near the device. It will hold the information for 23 days (I think) if you go on holiday and won't be around your computer. There is no monthly fee for it. I got mine as a xmas gift but depending on which one you get they're between $70-$130, I think.

I like it because it gives me a more accurate TDEE and as a calorie counter that's important to me. I also like knowing how far/many steps I take because I wash't doing enough so it's motivating.
Changergirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 11:18 AM   #3  
Wild Angels

Height: 5'2

I'm debating about buying fitbit because I have a friend who got one for x-mas and she's been raving about it since. Those of you who have one and have had it for a while, is it worth the investment? Have you had any problems with it?
NemesisClaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 11:26 AM   #4