General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 01-06-2014, 05:49 AM   #1  
Blessed Person Here

S/C/G: Going/Still going/Gone

Height: 5' 1''

Default The real impact of weight loss forums?

I'm a perfectionist and also really competitive. Not a good combo for a chubby girl on weight loss forums!
It's my first time on 3fc but I've used other forums in my previous weight loss attempts. I think looking back they did not help me much to say the least, but that's totally because of my own personality.
I had my own goals before I joined that forum but I got carried away by what other dieters were achieving. I'd tell myself that if people far heavier than me did that much I could do much more BUT I was wrong!
The idea of challenges felt good but I started cheating just to keep myself afloat in the race. When weigh in was close, I would starve myself just so I could log a good loss in. I'd overwork myself at the gym for the same reason.
Also in one of the forums there was an option for logging in daily workout, food and water intake. For workout I was fine but sometimes I'd leave out food that I had binged on. I'd not mention my slip up moments or belittle them just to keep up appearances and not appear like the black sheep because meeeen, did chicks on that forum do well!!!
This time I decided that even if I use a forum to share experiences and questions, I'm going to KEEP MY OWN GOALS NO MATTER WHAT. I also learnt that my body is unique and it reacts differently so I have to respect it and I MUST NEVER LOSE FOCUS AND ALWAYS REMEMBER THAT MY MAIN OBJECTIVE IS FORM AND NOT NUMBERS ON A SCALE (or numbers on a forum screen).
I'm going to keep myself away from challenges. My own monthy goal of 5.5 lbs is challenge enough.
Can someone relate to my experience?
thirti4thirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 06:17 AM   #2  

Height: 5'8"