Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 12-05-2013, 11:14 AM   #1  
Back with a story

S/C/G: 281 / 254 / 160

Height: 5'3" - I got taller!

Default Can I just join you guys? Not quite an intro post, but more of a beg!

Because, quite frankly, no other parts of the forum fit me well anymore!

Most of you know me, but just in case - I'm Taryl, 27 year old wife and mom of four (currently, we're thinking of trying for #5 ). I began at 257 pounds, though my high weight was in the 270's, and I've been working at losing weight for five years now. After multiple years of staying in the same weight range or losing little bits more, can I actually call myself a maintainer, even though I keep moving my own goalposts further out?

I think I just need some permission to feel like I've arrived, because part of my brain tells me I don't belong on here since I haven't declared myself done yet. I made my original goal of 160, bounced around, went lower, bounced, and am still picking at ultimately losing another ten or twenty pounds. And yet, unless I'm going at it hardcore I maintain my weight and have since, well, 2012 at least.

I know most of you and think I need a familiar group - does anyone else just get demoralized and tired of watching newbies try and give up and try again and give up, feeling like they're giving the same advice day after day and maybe three people out of dozens actually listen?

Because that's me, right now.