General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 10-20-2013, 08:25 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 278/see ticker/150

Height: 5'4

Default Social Anxiety, and Not knowing what to do

I did post this in another area, but thought I would also post it here, just in case some people don't check the other area as much, or have any words of wisdom for me because they may not have gone through it themselves, but maybe a loved one of theirs have? Just looking at all kinds of avenues, cause right now I'm feeling really really lost and not knowing which way to turn.

I could really really use some help, advice, a listening ear....So, here is my story.

I'm almost 35. I have zero relationship experience. That's right. Zero. My anxiety has....probably everything to do with that. Mostly, I don't think I'm good enough for the other person. Even though I think of myself as a great person, not terrible looking, honest, good heart, etc. I have social anxiety in general as well, but most of it revolves around meeting new people, or more specifically men. I don't know where this fear came from, but it is most certainly there. Scared I'm not good enough, scared they will reject me, etc.

I want/NEED to get help. But I'm lost on where to turn. I do not have a ton of extra money to seek a therapist ( although, at this point, I'm not against just charging my sessions ) My health insurance doesn't cover anything for mental help. So, my options are.....

1) Make an appointment with my GP, bring it up there about my anxiety, and what her recommendation might be.

2) Make an appointment with a therapist, be prepared to spend $100 just to sit down and talk with them.

3) Deal with it, and never be truly happy.

Now, I should mention, it took a lot for me to even make this thread, so please be kind, and don't just say it's something I need to "get over"