Old 10-13-2013, 10:14 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 297/234/126

Default Learn to Stop Binging (all welcome anytime)

I recently learned that binging is an eating disorder. I got a book, and am reading it, and I think I have this disorder. The great thing about the book, is that is gives advise to stop doong it. I didn't know before that there were strategies known to help stop or reduce binge eating.

I have been losing weight for over 2 years now. It is very slow progress b/c I do ok for awhile, then go on binges for a couple of a few weeks, and regain most of what I just spent months or weeks losing. Very frustrating & it is preventing me from getting to a healthy weight!!!

So I am starting this thread to try to find a group of people who will come here every day or two, and write when they are feeling a binge coming on and how they are trying (or not trying) to stop it, and what happens, and provide support for others in the group. Hopefully, together we will all learn how to reduce binge eating.

If you struggle with binge eating like me, hope you will join me here!!!
BonnieL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 09:19 PM   #2  

I am trying to hold off a binge. Yesterday I ate a few bites of apple cake, and then a medium sized brownie. Once I did that, last night I really wanted to go way off and eat lots of sugary treats.

I was very tired, after not sleeping much the night before. I think maybe when I am tired it is a weak time for me because my last binge also happened when I was tired and under stress. And now I am under a lot of stress too.

Anyway, last night a full binge was prevented because I got in a big fight with DH. This was very upsetting, as we dont usually have bi g fights, and by the time we calmed down it was time to go to sleep. While I didnt have time to go out and get food to eat, it was not a good way to distract myself from eating. One of the things I had read was distract yourself from eating.