Weight Loss Surgery If you've had it, or are considering it, share your discussions here

Old 09-29-2013, 01:30 PM   #1  
ich bin geliebt

S/C/G: 353-->whatever is healthy

Height: 5'9"

Default How much is too much?

Hi everyone,

I have been a member of this forum for a long time, coming and going. In 2009, I lost 60 lbs in 4 months by doing the Fat Smash diet and going to the gym five days a week. The classic formula.

Then, I studied abroad, came back, and was broke. I lived on ramen and buttered noodles and PBJ for months.

Then I met my boyfriend. And ate out a lot.

Slowly but surely I gained 100 lbs back. I got depressed, which made me eat more. I developed chronic pain.

Currently I am 25 years old and 352 lbs. I have been obese since elementary school, but this is my largest ever. And I woke up on Thursday (4 days ago) with what I believe is a pinched nerve in my leg. Went to the ER Friday, and was given muscle relaxers that do nothing. In my brain, this agony I am in right now is a sign that I have finally given my body all it can handle. I broke it.

I kept telling myself I could lose the weight like I did the first time, but I am so sick of being in pain. I am too young to have heel spurs and back spasms. And yet I somehow feel guilty about wanting surgery.

I know this is a weird post, and I'm rambling, but I guess what I'm asking is, is it really time? Am I rushing this?
MaryEllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 09:15 AM   #2  
Old Cackler

Oh Mary Ellen - my heart goes out to you. and i'm going to share just a few thoughts with you - please forgive me if i start rambling.

First of all, the best way to lose weight is the one that works for YOU to help you get to a healthy weight AND to help you maintain it. You've experienced this struggle. often.

And then there's the whole issue of trying and trying and trying, and following every plan, losing some, then regaining, even though you may or may not be doing things 'so badly.'