Old 08-20-2013, 12:54 AM   #46  
Started IP March 2013

Quote:
Originally Posted by Annik View Post
Caroline Myss has done some interesting work around the 'saboteur' part of our personality. Everyone has one. I am still learning how to deal with mine.

I wonder if has something to do with fear of success?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tightwad View Post
I have this problem as well...especially when really close!
And you are really close congratulations!
Aksarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 04:30 AM   #47  
Started IP May 17, 2013

S/C/G: 287/179/150

Height: 5'7.5"

A brief snippet from Myss about the saboteur:

The Saboteur

This may be the most difficult of all the archetypes to understand, because its name is associated with betrayal. Yet the purpose of this archetype is not to sabotage you, but to help you learn the many ways in which you undermine yourself. How often do you set new plans in motion, only to end up standing in your own way because of the fears that undermine those optimistic plans. Or you begin a new relationship and then destroy it because you begin to imagine a painful outcome. You begin a working relationship with another person and find yourself once again in a power struggle that could be settled peacefully -- but you fall into the same destructive pattern because you fear the other person.