Old 08-13-2013, 11:55 PM   #1  
BELIEVE

S/C/G: 215/---/145

Height: 5'8

Question Is it possible to eat TOO much fruit?

Just a random carb question as I'm still learning about carbs. Of course its a given that fruits are almost always healthy and you should eat them as much as possible. But I also know that fruits are pretty high carbs so I'm wondering if this will cause problems on a diet. I love eating lots of fruit as I just love the taste and I tend to eat more of it to make up for my lack of veggies. I guess I just want to know if this is a good or a bad thing? I eat fruit with every meal so its quite a bit. Lots of apples, bananas, and watermelon. Also, if it turns out fruit can have a negative impact. Are some fruits worse than others? Is there a good list anywhere perhaps?
KillerBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 12:21 AM   #2  

S/C/G: SW:394/310/180

Height: 5'6"

Yes, but for some people, four servings may be too many, and for someone else 15 servings may be just fine. Even which fruits are "better" than others often depends on you - which fruit you find easy to overeat, whether or not you have ibs or blood sugar issues such as Insulin Resistance or diabetes, what other carby foods you're eating, how much variety you're getting in your freggies...

I have IBS and type ll diabetes and can easily eat too much fruit. It can aggravate my IBS, mess with my blood sugar, and stall my weight loss, but I have to eat a LOT of fruit to experience problems.

In my case, it takes at least 5 or 6 servings to cause even mildly annoying symptoms (unless I'm also eating other high carb foods as well).

Dried fruits are the "worst" for weight loss and blood sugar management, because they're so easy to overeat.