Old 07-29-2013, 04:03 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 304/261.6/175

Height: 5"11

Default Gym fear!

Hello all
I've already lost 43lbs but I'd like to lose around 100 more. I'm doing the healthy eating thing (well sort of, I've had an off month) but I know that joining the gym will help me more! The problem is I'm scared. I'm not good with feeling like I'm being judged, I know I am but in the gym I won't be able to escape, and I'd feel like if I had to stop for a break I'd get judged for it! I'll be joining with a friend, but she's only got about 20lbs to lose but I'm hoping she'll be an encouragement for me.
Have any of you been/ still are going to the gym? How do you get over the people looking if they do? Maybe I'm just being a coward and need to jump in feet first!
Thank you chicks
startingagain1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 05:37 PM   #2  
I'm bringing sexy back!

S/C/G: 242/234.5/167

Height: 5'5"

Honestly most people are too concerned about themselves to judge you.
Good luck on the rest of your journey!
Mozzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 05:56 PM   #3  
weight room rookie

S/C/G: 267/233/150

First, congrats on your 43 pound loss! Second, I completely understand how you feel. I started going to the gym when I was at my heaviest weight. Here I was, huffing and puffing on the landing of the stairs (all the machines/weights/classes are on the second floor) and feeling completely like a fish out of water. Part of me wanted to bolt down the stairs, head to the parking lot, and write off my yearlong non-refundable membership as a "donation", and I would have, if not for my stubborn streak. Here's a few things that helped me out in the first days and weeks: