Mini-Goals Even if you're not at goal yet, this is the place to share your successes and achievements along the way! Success can be measured in many ways besides the scales. Tell us about your triumphs, including Non Scale Victories

Old 06-23-2013, 11:54 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 178/142/135

Height: 5'4"

Default Completed the Rachel Carson Homestead Challenge!!

I successfully completed the Rachel Carson Homestead Challenge yesterday! It is a hiking challenge, although some people run it (crazy!). It is 17.5 miles with some of the most intense hills I've ever seen. Like you come to some of these hills (both uphill and down) and think to yourself that humans aren't able to traverse this path, at least not without the aid of ropes and mountain climbing gear (which you do not have)! Climbing elevation was 4552 ft, descending elevation was 4390 ft.

It was in the mid to high 80s and very sunny, which made this hike particularly difficult. I have never done this challenge before, and only hiked on this trail once in my life, so I was aiming to finish in the allotted time of 7 hrs and 32 mins. Well, I finished in 6:31:48!! I'm so excited to have finished this challenge!

The Homestead Challenge is actually the HALF challenge. The FULL challenge is a 35 mile hike (we started halfway through the course). Those folks have from sun up to sun down to finish the hike...which is about 15hrs and 4 mins. The reason why they have it in June is to try to have it on the longest day of the year (or as close as they can). Maybe next year I'll try the full!
KindaSortaAthlete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:03 PM   #2  
a healthier me

S/C/G: 161/see ticker/125

Height: 5'3" Age: 42

What an accomplishment!! Woot woot!! And only 8 lbs to go...woohoo. You go girl.
aspen13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 01:23 AM   #3  

S/C/G: Hw277/183/167/155

Height: 6'2"