Weight Loss Surgery If you've had it, or are considering it, share your discussions here

Old 05-14-2013, 05:18 PM   #1  

Default Trying to decide....Internal Debate...HELP!

I am new to not only this message board but ANY message board. I never thought I would do this but I've been reading messages on here for awhile and I decided that this is the place to be in order to discuss a WLS because no one who hasn't had it or thought about it could understand.

Anyway, my story is this....I had my "stomach stapled" in 1989. I was one of the first to have this type of surgery. It worked great for a few years and then the weight started coming back on. I've been on every diet that is known to mankind since then and have lost weight only to regain it. So now, 24 years later, I am planning to have the surgery done again. I am literally 3-4 weeks away from surgery and I keep going back and forth in my mind about whether or not to go through with it. My surgeon is planning on doing a gastric by-pass unless he gets in there and discovers it's going to be too difficult and then he will switch to doing a sleeve.

I know I want to lose the weight, desperately. I just need some feedback from people who understand if I am doing the right thing. I know, I know, no one can make the decision but me but I need some advice from people who don't know me and who aren't really vested in this decision.
dilweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 05:37 PM   #2  
Joe

S/C/G: 405/249.5/281.5/220

Height: 6' 0"

Quote:
Originally Posted by dilweed View Post
I am new to not only this message board but ANY message board. I never thought I would do this but I've been reading messages on here for awhile and I decided that this is the place to be in order to discuss a WLS because no one who hasn't had it or thought about it could understand.