Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 02-18-2013, 06:40 AM   #1  

Height: 5' 11"

Default Does Anyone Use a Pedometer and Try for 10,000 Steps?

Hi All,

Last year, I read a few articles that said if nothing else, you should try to get in 10,000 steps a day, or the equivalent of 5 miles. They said the very minimum you should get is 5,000 steps, or the equivalent of 2.5 miles in. This can be accomplished through just adding more walking to your daily routine.

I am a writer and spend a lot of my day in front of a computer. When I wear my pedometer I am more conscious of getting up and walking around the house while on phone meetings instead of sitting down at the desk, etc. But I was curious to see if other people used pedometers/counted steps?

I did this briefly last year during a short-lived weight loss attempt and felt like I saw some good results, but am curious to hear other's thoughts/experience.
Ready2Lose2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 06:52 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 157/157/120

Height: 5'0"

Yes, I have a FitBit One and love it! I normally have no problem getting 10,000 steps in, but I have a very busy 2 year old boy (I'm a SAHM). It definitely motivates me to move more if I feel like I'm not getting enough steps in. I also love that it integrates with LoseIt.com which is where I track calories.
emurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:09 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 204/114/120

Height: 5'

I do have one, I haven't used it lately but when I was using it I found it surprisingly easy to reach 10,000 steps in a day.
bargoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:47 AM   #4  
HW:232/SW:165

S/C/G: 215/211/165

Height: 5'6

I have used one once upon a time but didn't find it very effective. I found it too sensitive to movement, so it'd count a step even if I just raised my leg slightly. I guess I'd have to invest in a more expensive one if I was to take it up seriously.