Old 02-09-2013, 09:00 AM   #1  
N

S/C/G: 175/150/135

Height: 5' 3"

Question Does anyone eat 6 cups of vegetables a day?

Hi,
I've been doing low carb on and off for twenty years, and have a whole bookcase of diet books, I've read them all. In the "new" Atkins, they want you to eat six cups of vegetables every day on induction, while staying below 20 grams of net carbs. I'm delighted to try to push the veggies (though they are more work to prepare than just grilling or roasting meat) but does anyone get to a whole six cups? Unless its just light and fluffy lettuce, which grows old after a while? (I just had a lettuce and bacon salad for breakfast.)

Is it possible to get to six cups of veggies staying below 20 net grams, except for light and fluffy lettuce? And even with light and fluffy lettuce, six cups is a huge amount! I prefer cooked vegetables for some meals.

Part of my concern is I still seem to be having some "induction flu" symptoms, two weeks in. I think I'm getting plenty of salt and plenty of water, but days with mostly meat seem worse to me.
Nan S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 09:30 AM   #2  
Unstoppable Force

S/C/G: 225/ticker/137

Height: 5'6"

I took this question as a challenge and plugged some veggies into spark.com to see if it was possible. Yup, 'tis!

Breakfast
Add 1 cup spinach (1 carb) to some eggs for an omelet

Lunch
2 cups lettuce (1 carb) - make it a "salad" by adding some protein like chicken or tuna with a teensy bit of balsamic vinaigrette
Raw veggies - 1 cup of broccoli (3 carbs) and 1/2 cup carrots (6 carbs)

Dinner
1 cup fauxtatoes - mashed cauliflower (5 carbs)
1/2 cup green beans (4 carbs)

6 cups = 20 carbs

(And when you subtract the fiber for net carbs, you're actually a bit under 20 so you have room for the salad dressing and the cream for the fauxtatoes.)

Last edited by Novus; 02-09-2013 at 09:36 AM.
Novus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 09:56 AM   #3  
Heading Downtown...

S/C/G: 225/165/165